CAF announces format for Women's Champions League

Published in local Written by  September 15 2020 font size decrease font size increase font size 0
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced the format for the newly inaugurated CAF Women’s Champions League competition to kick start next year.

CAF announced at the launch of a new Women’s Champions League which is scheduled to kick off in 2021 that the number of teams would be increased from the ordinary CAF competition to benefit the various women clubs and players on the continent.


The CAF Executive Committee held a video-conference on Thursday, 10 September 2020 to discuss the future of competitions and key matters related to the development of the game.


The meeting was followed by a virtual press conference with CAF President Ahmad Ahmad in attendance.


Check out the new competition format below:


• Each of CAF’s six zones will organize qualifications to determine the finalists for the eight (8) team tournament. The distribution will be as follows: one team from each zone, one team from the host country and one additional team.


For the first edition, the zonal union of the host country will have two representatives. However, for the following editions, the host country will have only one representative while the reigning champion’s Zone Union will qualify two teams.


• Competition format


The eight qualified teams will be drawn into two groups of four teams each in accordance with the regulations.



• The competition will be annual and will take place during the second semester.

Read 273 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Recent Twitter Posts