Thursday, October 1, 2020

Liverpool players dominate PFA players of the year award nominees

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Four Liverpool players are on the six-man shortlist for the Professional Footballers' Association Players' Player of the Year award, reports BBC.

The Premier League champions have last year's winner Virgil van Dijk on the list, as well as Jordan Henderson, Sadio Mane and Trent Alexander-Arnold.


Runners-up Manchester City are represented by Kevin de Bruyne and Raheem Sterling.


There are four Chelsea players in the Women's Player of the Year category.


Beth England, Sophie Ingle, Guro Reiten and Ji So-yun are all included.


Holder Vivianne Miedema and her Arsenal team-mate Kim Little complete the list.


As well as the main men's award, Liverpool defender Alexander-Arnold also features on the young player list.


The winners will be announced on Tuesday.


Reaction to the PFA awards nominations

All the shortlists

Men's player of the year


Trent Alexander-Arnold - Liverpool


Kevin de Bruyne - Manchester City


Jordan Henderson - Liverpool


Sadio Mane- Liverpool


Raheem Sterling - Manchester City


Virgil van Dijk - Liverpool


Women's player of the year


Beth England - Chelsea


Sophie Ingle - Chelsea


Kim Little - Arsenal


Vivianne Miedema - Arsenal


Guro Reiten - Chelsea


Ji So-yun - Chelsea


Men's young player


Tammy Abraham - Chelsea


Trent Alexander-Arnold - Liverpool


Marcus Rashford - Manchester United


Mason Greenwood - Manchester United


Mason Mount - Chelsea


Bukayo Saka - Arsenal


(Nominees had to be 21 or under on 1 July, 2019)


Women's young player


Erin Cuthbert - Chelsea


Lauren Hemp - Manchester City


Chloe Kelly - Manchester City


Georgia Stanway - Manchester City


Lauren James - Manchester United



Ellie Roebuck - Manchester City




Read 53 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Recent Twitter Posts